Think and Thank

images (1)
Gratitude unexpressed is meaningless-Dr. David Jeremiah

TV church is great, but it should not replace corporate worship and fellowship. Just saying that when our circumstance calls for staying home, we can worship and do church nonetheless. In fact, if you are usually shy to sing and dance you can do so with abandon in the privacy of your room, just you and The Lord hanging out and having a spiritual good time. ūüôā

In two hours I was able to hear two amazing preachers, Dr. Charles Stanley and Dr. David Jeremiah. One talked about loving God, one talked about thanksgiving, separately of course.

What instructed me this morning was what Dr. Jeremiah said that to be thankful , we have to look back over our shoulders and remember the past and reflect on how The Lord worked in our lives at a given situation and time.

images (3)To be able to thank we must be able to think first, he says. I couldn’t agree more. I did just that after the segment, and you know what? I couldn’t stop thinking and enumerating things I should be thankful for. Doing that made me realize that I am really not wanting more because He has been faithful in fulfilling my needs!

He also said that being grateful is not a silent game. We need to declare, confess and say it over and over. Expressing gratitude through verbal account and recollection allows for our memory to be refreshed and is in fact what the Scripture tells us to do.

 One generation commends your works to another;
they tell of your mighty acts.
They speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty
and I will meditate on your wonderful works.
They tell of the power of your awesome works
and I will proclaim your great deeds.
They celebrate your abundant goodness
and joyfully sing of your righteousness.
-Psalm 145:4-7

downloadWe ¬†say “thank you” for affirmation and to let the other person know ¬†that we recognize and appreciate his work and effort. We should do the same thing when we think of the past and God’s faithfulness in saving us, healing us, forgiving us and supplying all our needs.¬†After praying and thanksgiving, I opened my eyes and the TV screen read:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving,present your requests to God. and the peace of God which transcends  all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
-Philippians 4:6-7

To me that is ¬†God listening and communicating, as I read it I was shaking my head and just saying “wow”. ¬†His mercies are new everyday, He doesn’t stop wowing me each time I spend time with Him. I am always in awe, smiling, crying and just simply saying thank you!

Like Ptr. Jeremiah, I urge you to look back, think and reflect on God’s goodness. Our Heavenly Father deserves affirmation, praising and glory, don’t you think so?

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

images (4)

 

 
3 thoughts on “Think and Thank

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more! People who don’t experience the human fellowship of their brothers and sisters in Christ are missing out on a great chance to bond and connect with those whom they may very well be seeing in heaven…forever!

    Great post!

    Clayton

    Like

Please take off your shoes.

