Check, Check, Check!

Every morning my husband and I have a routine (actually it was just his but I sort of adapted it) Before going out the door he would say to me ” wallet, phone, keys? ” to which I’d say, “check, check, check”!

This morning went like this:

Me      :  “ wallet, charger, ring!”
Him   :  “I already charged my phone yesterday, okay I gotta go, I love you”. ( 2 minutes later he announced himself) ” I’m back! “
Me:    :   “What did you forget?”
Him   :  “The Ring!”   and he stormed off before I could even open my mouth. LOL I mean come on, I just reminded him of that, right?

Last Sunday  around 11:30 he called me from his office  and said  ” I forgot the milk!”  “What milk?” I was thinking to myself “was he supposed to go to the store?  We still have milk in the fridge, what is he talking about?  He must have  read my mind because he said  “I forgot to bring milk, how will I eat peanut butter and jelly sandwich without milk? “ Of course.

That Sunday morning was really chaotic. We have been remodelling the house and everyday he’d wake up thinking of the  door hinges, paint, and tiles, and what-not. I should be  the calm one supposed to just take care of him ( and I sometimes fail honestly).  I’m in charge of the lunchbox and I totally forgot!

So where am I going with this?  I think you know. We are so caught up with our own agenda and just when we thought we had it all planned out,kaboom! Mere mortals,are we all?

This morning’s devotion revisits a routine we believers should perform on a daily basis. Before we  start our day and head out the door, God  is also reminding us of the essentials that we need to go about our day.  It isn’t the laptop, the phone nor  the car keys. Not the make up or the clothes we need to wear.  It is written in Ephesians 6  and should be etched in our hearts  as believers in Jesus Christ.

Armor of God
Does this helmet make my head look big?

Do we always  put them on?  When we forget and reminded of them,  are we too busy and in a hurry to go back for them?

The world is a battlefield, and we know that we fight not against flesh and blood but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. (Ephesians 6:12) 

We are to equip ourselves with the full armor of God and  fight the war. But we sometimes forget and go to the battlefield  unprepared and with our guards down.  When we start our day,  what do we say “check, check, check!” to?

Share below, we want to know.

 

One thought on “Check, Check, Check!

Please take off your shoes.

