Sticks and Stones

…will break my bones, but words will never hurt me. Really? i don’t believe it. It’s as big as a lie as the hurtful words spoken to me so many years ago.

images (2)

Embedded in my inner being, some words would re-surface as a lie, to accuse, to condemn and to haunt. Words spoken to me as young as 4 years old still resound today.  Those words used to haunt me and condemn me, not that I let those words define me because as far as I can remember, I used to be angry because they were not true.  And because hurtful words were spoken by people close to me, it was like a double edged sword.  The wound healed but the scar is still there.

Words can define us. Words can make us. Words can break us. Words can kill and words can make us alive. People say stupid things because of ignorance. They say what they say because they want to feel good about themselves at other people’s  expense. The label is  their own way of masking their own insecurities and shortcomings. Hurtful words that label and brand us can catch on and spread like wildfire.

images (3)

I was a victim of bullying, and for many years  I was afraid to go out and face my “tormentors”. I gave them too much power that, it stifled me for awhile. It was a good number of years- bullying started at age 11, and just went on and on and on.  I am still “branded” to this day.  It was stupid and yet some people didn’t change and they are still at it.

Words spoken by a family member could also be damaging.  Slap or spank me, it might sting but it will go away and be forgotten. Say something hurtful, and it will stay like a parasite-eating your inner being. The worse thing is you get used to the lie and it hardens your heart.

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit.
-Proverbs 18:21

But there is hope. We don’t have to receive EVERY word we hear. We have the right to reject , in Jesus’ name. Confess, forgive and be released.

download (2)Parents have a greater responsibility in shaping their kids. When you speak harshly and profess hurtful words towards them, if nurtured can be very damaging.  Spouses say hurtful words against each other that could potentially hurt the relationship. Friends saying  things that are untrue against one another could lead to an even greater problem-strained relationship and could to some extent manifest into some form of physical sickness and unhealthy view of one’s self.

Words of life when spoken can grow to encourage, help and support. Speaking blessing instead of curse is like “apples of gold in settings of silver.”

What are the effects of your words?  Do they encourage or do they hurt and damage?  If we ask the Lord and we repent of all the hurtful and senseless words we said, He is just to forgive us.

I read somewhere that every word we speak floats around us from eternity and beyond. They spread and infect like a virus. If that was true, wouldn’t you speak words of life and blessings for everyone to catch?

images (4)

20 thoughts on “Sticks and Stones

  1. Well said. I never thought much about words until the words of some caused so much hurt that it affected just about every aspect of my life We should always choose our words carefully and use them to bless others. I hope I will be able to teach my children to do the same- to never bully anyone and to always be kind.

    Like

  2. Well said… words hurt deep and can’t be seen… You and I are different (and many other people too), that’s why we are bullied and hurt… But now we are older we know that we are good different… We are in fact MAGNIFICENT… and nobody can say anything anymore because we know it isn’t true… They are the ones that need attention, need love…

    But love comes from within… Jesus is teaching you this… So thank you for a lovely post and IAM going to enjoy your friendship going forward through life… having new adventures… take care Barbara

    Like

  3. Amen and Amen. There is nothing worse than careless hurtful words. Words are ‘seeds’ and whether positive or negative, they take root in the ‘soil’ of our soul….

    Thanks for sharing and I pray this will reach many and cause us to be more mindful of what comes out of our mouths; even in jest.

    Blessings to you my sister 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    JC

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for this. Words are powerful and we need to be wise how we use each one of them. Many lives have been destroyed by them. And others have been uplifted and encouraged by them. It’s always important to consider how ours can affect the people around us either positively or negatively.

    Like

  5. O this takes me back to when I heard that same phrase when I was young. I wasn’t bullied but I was ridiculed for being heavy. Oh the pain inside from the hurtful words and then hearing that phrase said while the family would stand there and laugh at me. You and I, we are sisters, and I will never let anyone bully you

    Like

Please take off your shoes.

