What A Friend We Have In Jesus

People will let you down, people will disappoint you. People will hurt you, people will plan evil against you. True, we already know that.

But when friends do all those things to you, it is hurtful and you feel betrayed. When friends mock you and stab you in the back using the very secret or information you shared with them, not only are you hurt, you are mad! True?

A friend called me to tell me that another friend was mocking me because of an event in my life that keeps stalling. Reason being is more spiritual and while I don’t have to announce and explain myself as to the whys, I pleaded and asked my friend to refrain from judging because they do not know what we go through.download

Just because we kept changing the date, doesn’t give them the right to judge us and think of me as a fool and him a jerk. I was even shocked that they thought I was miserable and offered advice that was so ungodly. I am sorry but I want my marriage to be blessed by my Heavenly Father and not Elvis Presley on Vegas! To even suggest that we just drive up there to do it was a total insult and way off base.

images (1)Is there a difference between godly friends and worldly ones? Yes there is. There is just no oneness in spirit with the worldly ones, they open their mouths giving unsolicited advice and judge you by their own worldly standard. Godly friends on the other hand lift you, pray for you and join you in “storming the gates of Heaven” for revelations and for His perfect will.

Was I hurt? yes. But I refrained from reacting harshly but simply said “it’s my life and I will live it according to how my God instructs me. I answer to no one but God.”

With a heavy heart I prayed and God answered me:

I trust in you;
do not let me be put to shame,
nor let my enemies triumph over me.
No one who hopes in you
will ever be put to shame,
but shame will come on those
who are treacherous without cause.
-Psalm 25:2-3

Then, in my alone time with Jesus a song played in my head. The lyrics spoke to me and reminded me that Jesus is the greatest BFF.

Can we find a friend so faithful
Who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our very weakness;
Take it to the Lord in prayer

Do thy friends despise, forsake thee?
Take it to the Lord in prayer!
In His arms he’ll take and shield thee;
Thou wilt find a solace there.

I still love my friends and I know they love me ( I hope), but Jesus loves me more. What a friend I have in Jesus, indeed!


		
14 thoughts on “What A Friend We Have In Jesus

  1. How true this is! Godly friends will be with you and pray for you in your time of need…not offering their worldly advice. I’ve been there so many times through the years with not only “friends”, but also relatives. It is very painful, indeed. Thank God for blessing us with true Godly friends who will stick by us and pray with and for us.

    Like

    1. What I also learned, although Christians are the lesser evil (that is sooo not right me saying that haha)..even Christians fail us. It really is Jesus.Why people hate Him so much is beyond me. He is truly is a great friend.

      Like

  2. When it all comes down to it, we only have one true friend- Jesus. We can’t even count ourselves (or trust ourselves) to be a “true” friend to ourselves- yes, we’re altogether wretched! Our Christian friends will pray with us, true enough, but I know some that will cut your heart out just the same and then repent later. I love my Christian friends and my non-Christian friends equally (believe it or not). (I think Elvis is a disgrace also. Talk about squandering your gifts and tossing ’em out the window, eh?) When my x-husband and I got married, I had some (olive) oil that I had prayed over- annointed- and I had put it in an empty pill bottle. I carried it with me in my purse and when it was time for us to be actually married in the Church- I whipped out my annojnted oil (yes, still in the pill bottle) and asked the preacher to annoint us. He did, without any question. It was awesome. :0) I hear ya! xo

    Like

      1. No- my family and I all do it- we have an active prayer line in our Church where everyone is annointed regularly. (I think of the Scripture that tells us to “let not thine head lack oinment”, etc.) I was raised with it right along with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches so it’s a very “normal” thing for me. Not so much others. :0) But no, the preacher was alright with it because he was already acquainted with the principle and its importance and it was a very small wedding- mostly family- (and we all do that) so it was to be expected (from me, anyway). I wanted a double portion! (I got what I asked for because my x and I got divorced and then remarried by the same preacher….haaa…) YEAH.

        Like

  3. Ahh briliant. When I went through a similar mocking situation, I just sensed that His right arm was in front of me all the time so that I could not be further hurt by it. It was the most wonderful and comforting experience, and to be honest, for the first time in my life I felt what it was like to be completely protected and defended! He honours you because you honoured His Word. Best Friends For Life! 😉

    Like

    1. My initial reaction was to lash out, lol. I felt like my spirit was all stirred up. I was in disbelief. People are just so quick to offer advice and they formulate this elaborate scene in their heads that they believe they can run my life for me.and they question my actions and like I said they even thought I was miserable:/

      Like

Please take off your shoes.

