This Is Not Heaven, Let’s Upgrade.

images (4)Two months ago, we signed up for an internet service with the same provider that services our cable ( whom I shall call “the bundler”).  Our home phone was at that time being serviced by the competitor. Asking for discounts and some concession, we decided to port over our home phone over to our cable provider and bundled all three and got some freebies and discount.

Since our mobile phones are still with the competitor, we still call them and usually at the end of the call, they try to convince us to switch over and try their services.  I actually attempted a switcheroo because we were initially unhappy with the internet speed “the bundler” was providing. Then knowing the difference between what we had and what we were trying out, we finally decided to stay with the bundler.

I do the calling all the time, one particular sales call lasted 40 minutes. Ha Ha! Well, I had nothing else to do, I was bored and I needed someone to talk to, so for once I let a phone salesman waste my time. He tried with all his might, power, clout and tricks to convince me to try a dish cable, throwing in sports channels and what not. No way!

I vehemently refused, I stood my ground and really was firm in saying no, because our cable was really good I believe. The package channels, the freebies, and we’ve had it for quite sometime now. I was willing to try out the internet because I knew what I was missing and what I wanted and I was able to compare it, hence the switch to the  bundler. I have a point, be patient with me lol.images (5)

In his desperation, he pulled a Columbo sales tactic on me.  I used to train customer service and sales people , so he was basically preaching to the choir.  In the end, he gave up and as if it was his eureka moment he exclaimed “Oh, now I know why you are unwilling to give up your cable, you have been using the same service for so long you don’t know what you are missing!”

Touché.

I think that in general, we approach death  the same way. We all want to go to heaven but we are afraid to die. We are reluctant to leave the life as we know it because although the scripture painted a picture of what heaven is like, human nature is always “to see is to believe. ”

images (1)But “to see is to believe” is not always the best philosophy for we walk by faith not by sight. If Abraham and Moses and all the previous saints were to appear and warn us of what it is going to be like after we die, the very purpose of Christianity, of  faith and of God’s sacrifice would be in vain. People then would  readily accept Jesus only because of the perks. That is but natural. But God is  supernatural and it just doesn’t work that way.

Death is the portal to heaven, said the pastor in his sermon yesterday. We prepare and spend time and money on our grand vacation because we heard and see that the venue is good, more than good sometimes that we term it “heaven on earth”.  Is it too weird to say that we should be equally excited dying as when we board the plane to our weekend getaway?

If we are going to heaven, why does it matter when we die?

Look all around us and you will see scary situations, troubling news and restlessness. We are virtually connected but socially disconnected. People are generally unhappy, tired and stressed out. Any which way you turn is hard work, too much insecurities, endless  ridicule and persecution.

imagesAnd yet, we hold on dearly to our earthly lives, defying  age and prolonging life.  There is nothing wrong with that but when we lose sight of what who we are, we lose sight of where we are going.

Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.-Psalm 116:15

For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.- Philippians 1:21

 But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.Philippians 3:20-21

 Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”- Revelation 21:1-4

images (2)

 

5 thoughts on “This Is Not Heaven, Let’s Upgrade.

  1. I watched my godly mother face her soon-coming death, and realized she wasn’t ready to let go. Life as she knew it had become more attractive than the life she knew ABOUT, but hadn’t yet experienced. I wasn’t with her when she went through that portal, but my sister was. She said it was completely peaceful. Somewhere in there, my mom got more interested in heaven than in earth.

    Like

    1. I know sis. Me, too. When it is the unknown, we fear. But it is not the unknown for those in Jesus and fear is not from the Lord. Death is a sure thing. It is just a matter of when.But between now and death, life should be spent according to what the Scriptures tell us to do. It is sad to lose someone or even to think about dying could be unsettling sometimes, but who would wanna be immortal in this kind of world, right? I’d rather upgrade to the new earth and heaven:)

      Like

Please take off your shoes.

