See you in Heaven, Sister.


ImageI recently lost a dear friend. She went to the same church camps with me. She was sweet. She was kind. She was  generous. She had four kids. She used to have a husband.

We reconnected through a social network. The short time I spent with her online, she managed to share with me what was going on with her life. Her husband was having an affair. She cried out for help  and asked me to talk to whoever was concern at that time. I felt it was not my place to do it, so I just prayed for her.  Six months ago when I took down my profile I lost communication with her and life went on, until one day I got the sad news of her death. It was heart attack.

images (3)When I heard of  it,  the first thing that came to mind was “she really died of a broken heart.” I was numb and didn’t know how to react. I talked to her sister ( the story about her sister is another blog story), we both broke down, but we were sad and happy at the same time. If you are a believer you know why the mixed emotions.

I later found out that her husband finally left her for another woman, her kids left her and she was evicted from her house for not paying rent. She had so many troubles in life, but all through the ordeal her love for God was so profound, she would always be praising and thanking God. (  Some people were offended and found that odd, because people expect troubled people to wallow, be depressed and just curse life and God in general, right?) Not my friend.images (2)

Then, I was told that finally she made the painful decision to move on. She found a new place, got rid of most of her possession and called her sister to announce that she did turn a new leaf in her life and praised God for it. A week later she died of a heart attack. Now that kind of thing really sticks with you. We did not question God, not at all, in fact we were happy that she is now with the Lord. God took her home and she is free,

The Sunday service following her death was a confirmation from heaven and I was gently reminded and given the blessed assurance that God loved her and her death was necessary and He knew what he was doing. The message that day was all about resurrection and the importance of death. 

God is all-knowing, God is compassionate and Isaiah 57:1 spoke to my heart, and I hope that this too will be a comfort to anyone who lost someone dear:

The righteous perish,
    and no one takes it to heart;
the devout are taken away,
    and no one understands
that the righteous are taken away
    to be spared from evil.

God bless you endlessly.

heaven

13 thoughts on “See you in Heaven, Sister.

  1. She left behind her kids and beautiful memories ,her kind words and deeds.Persons like her stay alive even though they are gone.May The heavens be her resting place.jalal

    Like

  2. G’day! Sorry to hear about your loss! I had this poem saved and thought it might bring some comfort to you

    Cheers! Joanne

    She Is Just Away
    I cannot say, and I will not say….
    that she is dead…
    She is just away!
    With a tilt of her head, and a wave of her hand…..
    She has wandered off to an unknown land……
    and leaves us thinking, how fair, that land must be…..
    since she lingers there.

    Always know…
    do not fear….
    She loves us, there,
    as she loved us here.

    And therefore I just cannot say….
    that she is dead…..
    She is just away!

    Like

  3. Trying to catch up on the blogs I read, and alway, always God sends me to the ones I need WHEN I need them. I’m going to speak at a women’s conference tomorrow, This story, edited somewhat, will be a part of my message. Thank you.

    Like

Please take off your shoes.

