How Is Your God?

If someone asked how your God is doing, what would you say?  Would you scramble for an answer? Would you be stumped?  Would you look at the person asking the question as if he were crazy?

But now that I asked you how your God is doing, seriously what is your answer?

The ability to answer the question lies not in the head knowledge of who God is. I am not a theologian, just forgiven and saved by God’s grace and therefore enjoying the privilege of  personal relationship and intimacy with my Father. So if you asked me how my God is doing, I’d gladly give you a few list (there are a lot) of how He is based on my relationship with Him.

My God is Holy, still.
I am the LORD your God; consecrate yourselves and be holy, because I am holy.(Leviticus 11:44a) 

Nowadays, God is viewed as some mythical character of age.  God’s name is used in vain. God’s name is thoughtlessly uttered in anger, frustration and “God knows” where else, “Oh, God!”, “God***n it*,  got the picture?

My God is holy and ought to be revered. He won’t tolerate sin. And while God understands our frailty as humans, God cannot be manipulated into accepting our  sinful  lifestyles. God is Holy and therefore we ought to be holy too. (1 Peter 1:15).

My God is alive.
But the LORD is the only true God. He is the living God and the everlasting King! (Jeremiah 10:10)

To be a testimony that God is alive,  a person or even objects have to have a certain type of  relationship with the Lord.  A living God is able to answer prayers, heal  us, provide for us  and manifest Himself in ways big and small alike. A living God offers hope and life beyond death.

My God is sufficient
Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God. (2 Corinthians 3:5)

I used to long for a lot of things-relationships, love, career, money and just about everything that we we perceive to be the yardstick of true success and happiness. But the more I want, the more I don’t get. The more I don’t get the more I fret.  And at the end of my rope, God revealed something  great.

God loved us so much that He gave His only Son to die so we may live.  God doesn’t lack in anything.   His desire is to love us. No gap, no void, just  finality in God’s ultimate sacrifice, giving His only Son to die in order for us to live.

Jesus’ death puts it in perspective.  When I am weak, I am strong. When I am in despair, God comforts me. When I feel alone and sad, God loves me unconditionally. When I sin, He forgives me. My God completes me, He alone is sufficient.

My God is faithful.
 He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he. Deuteronomy 32:4

People frustrate us. Friends and lovers betray us. Family disappoints us.  People come and go,  we feel insignificant. We feel abandoned. We are all alone. I am most thankful that the God I serve is a God of relationship, a God perfect in everything.  A faithful God who doesn’t leave me  nor forsake me.

My God is a loving, compassionate God. My God is bigger than any problems you may have. I pray that you will discover the awesome wonders and greatness of the One True God.  I did.

Please take off your shoes.

